Weekly Finds

Good morning. I can’t believe we are at another Friday again. Here are some links, finds and tidbits from the week.

For those of you who noticed my tattoos yesterday. I have two on one arm. An awen. And these ‘stitched’ embroidery scissors.
(I was in the fabric store once and the guy at the cutting table noticed the latter one and said he’d never seen someone with a sewing tattoo before. I replied that I was serious about sewing. Right now I’m not so serious about it but I hope to get that passion back someday. Even if I don’t, though, it was such a huge part of my life and don’t regret the tattoo at all. I used to worry about how I would feel about having tattoos in like five, ten years. But they are like really awesome battle scars, in a way. Or like Ani says: “tattoos like mile markers/map the distance she has gone/winning some, losing some.“)

Pounding
Last week I started some sauerkraut. My Dad makes it every year so he answered my questions. I did all the pounding. A helpful recipe/how-to (suggested by Sara) can be found here in case you’re curious or want to give it a try yourself.

Sauerkraut
It’s busy doing it’s thing. When it’s done, I’ll report back in on how well it worked out.

Pickles
Pickles
Last weekend my Mom and I made garlic dill pickles.

Window
And we put in a new window in my Grandmother’s basement apartment.

Window
Don’t let my outfit photos fool you, this is what happens when someone else takes my picture.

My (other) Grandmother gifted me a old craft book.

Have you ever heard of Wowbrary? It’s a service that sends you a weekly email newsletter with your local Library’s recent catalog additions. I signed up with that a while ago and it’s nice to see all the new stuff and I can request things right away, online. It kind of leads me to requesting things I wouldn’t normal think of looking for on the shelves, like this book. (I not even Paleo, but I still like to flip through food books for ideas and inspiration.)

This is a beautiful project.

This looks tasty.

Have you seen Rachel’s Modern Medallion Quilt? Gorgeous!

Or Casey’s blanket? So pretty.

I have lots to do today but hopefully I’ll find the time to sit down and reply to some of your comments and visit your blogs soon.

PS: This is my 800th post! Perhaps I should plan a little belated celebration for next week, like a giveaway or something?

6 Responses to “Weekly Finds”


  1. 1 Snoodles August 10, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    Great finds….I’d not heard of Wowbrary…I’ll have to see if it works in my area…. :)

    • 2 Liesl August 11, 2012 at 3:41 pm

      Hope it does! It’s really nice. You can get yourself further up the queue with a lot of the new, popular stuff that gets a lot of requests. :)

  2. 3 Sara August 11, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    Wow, lots of tasty things going on in your corner of the eastern forests! Thanks for linking to my blog, by the way. That was awfully nice of you. :)

    So your tattoos sound really cool, especially the awen. I’ve got some tattoo aspirations, though they’ll have to wait a while, unfortunately.

    Congratulations on your 800th post!!

    Also diggin’ your adorable tank. Did you make it?

    xo

  3. 4 Genevieve August 11, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    Wow! 800? That’s truly amazing to me!

    Love all these finds. Just signed up for Wowbrary! Thanks for the link.
    You look adorable. I never look that cute when I’m working!
    We made sauerkraut this year and it’s sooo good! We love to eat it sauteed with chicken sausage or bratwurst. Yum!

    Genevieve

  4. 5 Genevieve August 11, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    P.S. I didn’t forget about the zucchini pancakes recipe. My sis in law cannot find it. She said she got it out of a magazine and now cannot remember which one. Sorry!

    Genevieve

  5. 6 Casey August 11, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    Thanks for linking to my blanket :) and I love the modern medallion too! If I were a better sewer I would try it.

    I would like to get a tattoo for crocheting but the pain makes me nervous! The farthest I’ve gone is a henna tattoo, pain free!

    Congrats on the 800th post :)


Leave a comment




About



A lifestyle blog for the sewing and knitting projects, photography, homemaking adventures, gardening, inspirations and other ramblings of a 20-something artist. (more...)


Goodreads


Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Unless otherwise noted, all images and words are copyrighted to the author of this blog. Feel free to use content and images but be sure to link back here! Questions? Contact me.