Craft Book Challenge Catch-Up: April and May

Calico Quilt.
Even though I was gone from my blog for over a month in May, I still kept up with the CBC! It’s a BIG project, so I’m counting this as April *and* May’s CBC project. It took me all of April and little of May. It’s the calico quilt I mentioned in passing a while back!
Calico Quilt.
I used the Picnic Quilt pattern in Sewing Bits and Pieces. It was plenty easy-peasy—with a full size template in the back of the book for the scallop shape. I didn’t machine stitch anything but the front of the binding. Instead I pieced and quilted in one go.
Calico Quilt.
I’m excited that all but two of the scallops are secondhand/vintage prints that I had in my stash. (The new/designer print is Denyse Schmidt’s Wallflower print, but even then, it’s been in my stash for a while.)
Calico Quilt.
It’s about 5’ by 7’. I call it my nap quilt. It’s the perfect length to tuck under my feet and wrap around my shoulders when I stretch out my long frame for a quick siesta. The batting is Warm & Natural and the back is a secondhand blue floral print cotton.
Calico Quilt
(I’m posting this from my brand new laptop–a Sony Vaio for those of you who might be interested in knowing. I’m really excited about it, for obvious reasons, but there is a pang of guilt in me considering the challenge I embarked on starting in June. I’ll be blogging more about the challenge soon, but for the sake of clarification, I’ll sum it up now so you know why I feel the way I do: I challenged myself to try not to buy anything new for a whole year! Again, I’ll go into more detail about it all, maybe tomorrow. I’ve been researching and hunting for a used or refurbished laptop since about January, but in the end it was cheaper for me to just get one new.)

18 Responses to “Craft Book Challenge Catch-Up: April and May”


  1. 1 Jacquie July 13, 2011 at 7:54 am

    Looks so fantastic Liesl!

  2. 2 elisemcg July 13, 2011 at 8:59 am

    How delightful to cuddle up under such a lovely quilt. I’m thinking tea,a wonderful whimsical book and a beautiful rainstorm . Just the perfect moment to be wrapped up safe and sound.

    It’s lovely Liesl,
    xo Elise

  3. 3 Harmony July 13, 2011 at 9:36 am

    Quilt is lovely! I am intrigued by your challenge… right up my alley! My nickname (self-given) is Hand-me-down Harm. :)

  4. 4 Casey July 13, 2011 at 11:25 am

    that is a really beautiful quilt!

  5. 5 genkiknits@gmail.com July 13, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    That is a gorgeous quilt. I don’t quilt myself, but that is making me want to start. The muted colours are so lovely, and complement the design perfectly.

  6. 6 Rachel at Stitched in Color July 13, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Gosh, what a stunning quilt. I am rarely ever drawn to soft and gentle, but this one has me. Those pops of yellow really liven things up and the dark gray…. very cool.

    P.s. I want to know people who take up such a challenge.

  7. 7 Jodi July 14, 2011 at 6:13 am

    Beautifully done. I have that book and have contemplated making that quilt. But you, have raised the bar significantly.

  8. 9 Marina July 15, 2011 at 2:17 am

    Beautiful quilt. Love the scallop shape!

  9. 10 dani July 15, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    This blows my mind. Really.

  10. 11 elizabeth August 1, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Oh my goodness!! That is the prettiest thing I’ve seen in ages! You did an amazing job! Go you! Now I’m coming to your house to steal it for a snuggle, LOL!

  11. 12 Dana August 1, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    I really love this quilt! I have been thinking about it since you posted it and here I am today with a question about it…well, more about hand-quilting, since I have never done it but want to give it a try.
    What do you do about hiding the knots in the thread? And do you cut off the tail of the thread right close to the knot? It just seems to me that the knot might slip off if you do that, but I also wouldn’t want the knots to be super visible. I can’t even see yours…are they all on the back?
    sorry, lots of questions!

  12. 13 Vicki@Hitch&Thread June 15, 2012 at 12:30 am

    It’s a beautiful quilt. Could you explain more about how you pieced and quilted it at the same time? I’d like to make one and any information would be helpful. Thank you.

  13. 14 Cheri August 25, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    I absolutely love this quilt. I am new at quilts. The only quilts I have made are baby quilts for friend and now my two new grandbabies. I hope one day to aspire to this kind of talent. AWESOME! Thank you for sharing.


  1. 1 Craft Book Challenge Catch-Up: June « Liesl Made Trackback on July 20, 2011 at 6:29 am
  2. 2 Hand Printed, Hand Made Ombre Scallop Patterned Pillow | everythingforthelove Trackback on March 21, 2012 at 8:35 am
  3. 3 Curry Kay Designs - Something Lovely for Your Life Trackback on May 4, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Leave a comment




About



A lifestyle blog for the sewing and knitting projects, photography, homemaking adventures, gardening, inspirations and other ramblings of a 20-something artist. (more...)


Goodreads


Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Unless otherwise noted, all images and words are copyrighted to the author of this blog. Feel free to use content and images but be sure to link back here! Questions? Contact me.