Checkbook Cover Tutorial

I suppose that checks are a bit outdated today. But if you (or someone you know) still kick it old school and write out checks to The Man, you might as well do it in style.
This is a super easy project and shouldn’t take much time at all. Pardon the horrid photos. It was too dark and I had to use artificial light.

Checkbook Cover Tutorial

Materials Needed:
1 – 7 1/2″ x 8″ outer fabric
1 – 7 1/2″ x 8″ lining fabric
1 – 7 1/2″ x 8″ fusible interfacing
2 – 3 1/2″ x 7 1/2″ outer fabric

Cut out all of your fabric pieces parts. On the 7 1/2″ x 8″ outer fabric piece, iron on the fusible interfacing to the back. You don’t have to do this, especially if you’re using a heavier fabric like denim. But if you’re using a simple cotton, it’s really needed.

Hem the tops of the 3 1/2″ x 7 1/2″ pieces (these are the pockets) by ironing a 1/4″ fold twice.
img_2429

Then top-stitch as close to the fold as possible
img_2446

Next, lay out the outer fabric/interfacing piece with the right side up and the shorter ends at the bottom and the longer ends at the sides. On top of that layer the two pockets at the top and bottom with the right sides down.
img_2448

On top of that, place the lining fabric right side down. Pin in place.
img_2450

Stitch a 1/4″ around the edges, leaving a hole along the bottom shorter end for turning. Clip corners to ease bulk.
img_2454

Turn inside out between the outer fabric and the pockets.
img_2457

Poke the corners nice and square–I’ve found a crochet hook works well. Blunt scissors or pen end would work too.
img_2459

Iron the cover nice and flat. Then top stitch a 1/4″ around the edges. Repeat around the edges at 1/8″.
img_2464

Iron in half. And you’re finished.
img_2466

I forget to snap a shot of the inside view so here is the inside of another cover. (Available in the shop.)
img_2356

Have fun. And be sure to share photos if you make this project. And, as always, contact me with any questions you have.

1 Response to “Checkbook Cover Tutorial”


  1. 1 Alaa February 19, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    I never sewed anything before. But I always wanted a nice cover for a special book that I have.. and well.. it had to customized!
    So I found this tutorial and fell in love with it.. and I thought.. hey why don’t I use it to create a cover for my book!
    At the beginning I thought it wouldn’t work. Plus I don’t even have a sewing machine!
    I did it anyway and it turned out.. very nice indeed! Just the thing I wanted.
    Thank you Liesl :) for helping me sew for the first time and find a new love


Leave a comment




About



A lifestyle blog for the sewing and knitting projects, photography, homemaking adventures, gardening, inspirations and other ramblings of a 20-something artist. (more...)


Goodreads


Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Unless otherwise noted, all images and words are copyrighted to the author of this blog. Feel free to use content and images but be sure to link back here! Questions? Contact me.